Schengen Visa Types

Preparing for your trip


Schengen visa type a visa for the Schengen Area: 26 countries with no border controls between them which include Austria, Estonia, Greece, Latvia, Malta, Portugal, Sweden, Belgium, Finland, Hungary, Liechtenstein, the Netherlands, Slovakia, Switzerland, the Czech Republic, France, Iceland, Lithuania, Norway, Slovenia, Denmark, Germany, Italy, Luxembourg, Poland, Spain

If you have a Schengen visa, you will also be permitted to travel in the other 25 countries belonging to the Schengen area. A Schengen visa is valid for 90 days within a 180-day free period

Schengen visa types

There are three types of visa: A, B and C

  • A category stands for the Airport Transit Visa which allows its holder to travel through the international zone of the Schengen Country Airport without entering the Schengen Country Area.
  • B category stands for the Transit Visa which allows its holder to transit within no more than 5 days through more than one Schengen country by car, coach or plane on the way to a non-Schengen country.
  • C category stands for a Short-term visa which allows its holder to reside in a Schengen Country for a certain period of time depending on the visa validity.

Further readings